American Foundation for Suicide Prevention – Metro Atlanta Chapter is hosting a vigil to remember those lost to suicide as a kick-off for activities for National Suicide Prevention Week. Speakers include GA Representative Stephanie Stuckey-Benfield, Pastoral Counselor Adam Garner, AJC Columnist Jim Osterman, and survivor of her mother and son’s suicides, Sherre Yager, and more. Music by Lindsay Rakers. Tuesday, September 6, 8 – 9 p.m. No registration necessary. Take MARTA or park in SAGE parking facility. 50% off coupons for Willy’s Mexicana Grill available Piedmont Park at 12th Street Entrance (inside the park) http://www.facebook.com

Registration is open for the Suicide Prevention Coalition of Georgia Conference, Together We Can: Looking Back, Moving Forward, September 8-10, at the Macon Conference Center in Macon . Online registration is open until September 1 and daily onsite registration will be available. There is no registration fee for conference participation. Continuing Education Units (CEUs) have been applied for through UGA’s School of Social Work and the Alcohol & Drug Addiction Certification Board of Georgia. Accommodation information is at www.marriott.com. Submit conference questions via email to RegistrationMHDDAD@dhr.state.ga.us

Comments: Thoughts of suicide go along with postpartum depression.  Although I did not attempt suicide while going through my depression, I was very tempted.  I had obsessive thoughts about killing myself, sometimes all day long.  Fortunately, I got help.  I also knew myself well enough to know that I would not need to be an inpatient at a hospital, as long as I got into an outpatient program pronto.  This self-knowledge is only available to me, because I have experienced depression and suicidal urges many times and have been hospitalized many times, so I now know what my limits are.  I also knew that if I did not get help the day after I experienced obsessive thoughts all day, then I would need to become an inpatient after a relatively short period of time.  But let me be clear: there is no shame in being an inpatient at a mental hospital-I just know myself by now and do not want to become an inpatient if I do not truly need it.  I did, however, know that I needed to be hospitalized in a more intense outpatient program than the one I was currently in and fortunately, I was able to appropriately express my needs and that is exactly what happened.  Hopefully, this will be my last week in an intense outpatient program and it has helped me a lot.  I have learned how to prevent a relapse and I have begun addressing the feelings that followed my pregnancy and abortion.  It is my hope that this will be my last mental hospitalization, but I do know that if I ever need to go back, it is available.  I believe it is better to be hospitalized than dead before my time.

